Decoding VOA Radiogram Program 105

After last week’s experiments with 8PSK modes, this week’s VOA Radiogram returned to mostly MFSK32 encoding. VOA Radiogram program 105 contained four images and five news items this week:

  • Russia Denies License to Tatar-Language TV
  • Tatar-language TV channels off air (broadcast twice)
  • Cyberattack targets GitHub
  • Google and Chinese website certificates
  • Cuba will increase Internet access

All the news items except “Tatar-language TV channels off air” were broadcast as MFSK32. As an experiment, that item was broadcast twice in 8PSK125F mode: once with a pilot tone and once without.

Results for 5745 kHz

I decoded the VOA Radiogram broadcast on 5745 kHz at 0930 UTC on Saturday (5:30 AM EDT Saturday). (5745 kHz was a frequency change from 5910 kHz.)

All of the MFSK32 items decoded perfectly, but both of the 8PSK125F items decoded with multiple errors. Here are the images I decoded:

Image 1 from VOA Radiogram on 5745 kHz
Image 2 from VOA Radiogram on 5745 kHz
Image 3 from VOA Radiogram on 5745 kHz
Image 4 from VOA Radiogram on 5745 kHz

Results for 17860 kHz

I also decoded the 17860 kHz broadcast at 1600 UTC on Saturday at 1600 UTC (12:00 PM EDT Saturday). I have had problems with this signal recently, but it came in very strong this weekend. It was probably the strongest signal I have received for VOA Radiogram on this frequency. Despite this, both of the 8PSK125F items decoded with multiple errors. Not surprisingly, the MFSK32 items decoded with no errors. Here are the images I decoded:

Image 1 from VOA Radiogram on 17860 kHz
Image 2 from VOA Radiogram on 17860 kHz
Image 3 from VOA Radiogram on 17860 kHz
Image 4 from VOA Radiogram on 17860 kHz

I thought that the final two images decoded especially well.

Results for 15670 kHz

I also decoded the 15670 kHz broadcast at 1930 UTC on Sunday (3:30 PM EDT Sunday). The signal came in strong this week with virtually no interference. My decoding results were the same as the other broadcasts: perfect decoding of the MFSK32 items and multiple errors in the 8PSK125F items. Here are the images I decoded from this broadcast:

Image 1 from VOA Radiogram on 15670 kHz
Image 2 from VOA Radiogram on 15670 kHz
Image 3 from VOA Radiogram on 15670 kHz
Image 4 from VOA Radiogram on 15670 kHz

Results for WRMI on 9955 kHz

Again this weekend, WRMI transmitted digital ID’s on 9955 kHz. I decoded this MFSK32 image at 1014 UTC Saturday (6:14 AM EDT Saturday):

Image decoded from WRMI on 9955 kHz

Results for The Mighty KBC on 7375 kHz

This weekend, The Mighty KBC began their expanded three hour broadcast to Canada, the United States, and South America on 7375 kHz. I decoded this MFSK64 image of a Lincoln Continental on 7375 kHz at 0130 UTC Saturday (9:30 EDT Saturday) during “The Giant Jukebox” program:

Image decoded from The Mighty KBC on 7375 kHz

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *