Decoding VOA Radiogram Program 106

This week, VOA Radiogram returned to entirely MFSK32 news items. There were five images and five news items this week:

  • Anti-venom against sub-Saharan snakes
  • New aluminum-ion battery
  • Chinese TV broadcaster punished for comment
  • Balloons send “The Interview” DVDs into North Korea
  • Islamic State hacks TV5Monde TV

Results for 17860 kHz

I decoded the 17860 kHz broadcast at 1600 UTC on Saturday (12:00 PM EDT Saturday). Reception was quite poor here and all of the news items decoded with errors. Here are the images I decoded:

Image 1 from VOA Radiogram on 17860 kHz
Image 2 from VOA Radiogram on 17860 kHz
Image 3 from VOA Radiogram on 17860 kHz
Image 4 from VOA Radiogram on 17860 kHz
Image 5 from VOA Radiogram on 17860 kHz

Results for 15670 kHz

I also decoded the 15670 kHz broadcast at 1930 UTC on Sunday (3:30 PM EDT Sunday). Reception was so poor here that I couldn’t hear Kim Andrew Elliott’s voice introduction that begins each broadcast. But the text items still decoded, although with many errors. Here are the images I decoded:

Image 1 from VOA Radiogram on 15670 kHz
Image 2 from VOA Radiogram on 15670 kHz
Image 3 from VOA Radiogram on 15670 kHz
Image 4 from VOA Radiogram on 15670 kHz
Image 5 from VOA Radiogram on 15670 kHz

Results for 5745 kHz from the Netherlands

As an experiment, I tried decoding one of the images using the WebSDR receiver at the University at Twente. This site lets you listen to and tune a wide-band radio receiver that is located in the Netherlands. I decoded this image from the 5745 kHz broadcast at 0230 UTC on Sunday (10:30 PM EDT Saturday):

Image from VOA Radiogram on 5745 kHz from Twente University receiver

As you can see, this image was clearer than the images I decoded here locally.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *